Beer of the Month Club: A Quick Overview

Wait, what?

The beer guy’s at the door?

No – that can’t be right.

Unless of course you belong to a monthly beer club that delivers delicious new beer to your door every single month!

I always get a laugh out of the fact that I have beer delivered to me in a perfectly packaged cardboard box fully protected from any flight turbulence or an overzealous UPS package handler.

Regardless of the hilarity factor, a monthly beer club is a must for those of us who truly enjoying trying new beer. Personally, I belong to one of the more popular clubs out on the web aptly named “Beer of the Month Club” (www.beermonthclub.com).

I was first introduced to this club by my girlfriend who seems to continually fuel the fire that is my craft beer hobby – and of course for this I thank her! She purchased four months of the service as a 2010 Christmas gift and the rest has been history.

A 12-pack arrives at the door every month and includes four different styles of beers from two different breweries from across the country.

I must admit that at one point I cancelled the subscription – the price, which is just short of $40 per month, seemed a bit too steep. Afterall, I can take my $40, run to my closest craft beer store and hand pick 16 bottles for less than $2.50 per bottle.

But then I realized that although I’m not lazy (I still head to the store every other week), the allure of having beer delivered to meet seemed too much to pass up. So I resubscribed and I’m glad I did!

During the most recent delivery, I received beers from two breweries completely new to me (one of the best perks of the club).

Sante Fe Brewing and Lost Coast BreweryThe State Pen Porter and Nut Brown Ale brewed by Santa Fe Brewing (@SantaFeBrew) in Sante Fe, NM (I’ve never even been to New Mexico!) and the Alleycat Amber and Great White from Lost Coast Brewery (@lostcoastbrewer) in Eureka, CA recently found their way to my apartment in Jersey City, NJ.

With every delivery the Beer of the Month Club includes a newsletter named Malt of the Earth describing each of the breweries, beers, and even suggested sampling temperature.

In addition to domestic and international 12 packs, the Beer of the Month club also offers a “Rare Collection” which includes beers selected by world renowned beer connoisseur Michael Jackson. Read more about the Rare Beer Club here.

Whether you are just starting off on the craft beer journey or are a long time traveler, I strongly suggest looking into a monthly club. You will definitely not regret it!

Do you currently belong to a monthly beer club and what great breweries have you discovered?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

