Bomb(er) Shelter: An Ode to My Favorite Bottle

About Bomb(er) Shelter
Within the craft beer industry, consumers have an array of delivery devices available at their disposal.

Pint glasses, cans, long necks and growlers line the shelves and refrigerators of your favorite bar and a six-pack is synonymous with the phrase “pick up some beer”.

But in my opinion, there is no better way to explore craft beer than grabbing a cold bomber and pouring yourself a delicious glass just the way you like it.

Frequently taken for granted within our industry, this is an ode to my favorite craft beer collecting and dispensing method: the 22oz bomber (for the sake of disambiguation, I am using the term bomber to represent both 22 oz. and 750ml bottles). This mini-feature will highlight various bombers that I have had the pleasure of experiencing.

My First Bomber Experience
My first bomber purchase was driven directly by a sample of what has quickly become the number one craft on my list: the Double Jack IPA by Firestone Walker in Paso Robles, CA.

Double Jack IPADuring a night out at my favorite local watering hole, The Iron Monkey (@TheIronMonkey) the rooftop bar was dispensing this delicious Double IPA from their draft and serving it in snifters. Wanting to experience all that is Double Jack at home, the next day I hurried to my local craft beer shop, Jersey City Buy Rite (@JCBuyRiteWines), to find this amazing concoction.

To my naive surprise – there were no Double Jack six-packs. But there were plenty of bombers! I picked up the bottle, held it in my hand, and reveled at it’s remarkable simplicity. I purchase three bottles, ran home, and searched for an old whiskey snifter I had somewhere in the back of the cupboard.

And, as you can imagine, the rest history! Now there doesn’t go a trip to the store without a purchase of at least one bomber. In addition to being a great dispensing method, it is also a fantastic way to collect and display your beer collection. Cheers!

Z Marks the Spot: bomb(er) shelter highlight
Double Jack IPA

Double Jack IPA - Bomber

Craft Information
Style: Double IPA
ABV: 9.5%
One-Liner: “The bitterness of a Pale Ale with the strength of a fruity Double IPA.”
Best Consumed: “On a cool fall night surrounded by friends you’re willing to share this with.”

Brewery Information
Firestone Walker
Location: Paso Robles, CA
Twitter: @FirestoneWalker
Website: www.firestonebeer.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

